## SOUTHEASTERN ARCHAEOLOGICAL CONFERENCE BUSINESS MEETING 2020 COMMITTEE/TASK FORCE ANNUAL REPORTS

## 2020 C.B. Moore Award Committee Submitted by Jay Johnson and Janet Levy

Members: Jay Johnson (chair), Janet Levy, Maureen Meyers

The C.B. Moore Award honors an outstanding young scholar in southeastern archaeology (no more than 10 years from date of Ph.D.). The award was founded by Prof. Stephen Williams and members of the Lower Mississippi Survey in 1990; it has been awarded by SEAC since 2010. The recipient is chosen from nominees by a group including all previous winners of the award, members of the SEAC Executive Committee, and one representative of the Lower Mississippi Survey.

In 2020, there were sixteen nominees for the award, demonstrating the strength of the pool of young archaeologists in the southeast. There were 36 individuals eligible to vote, of whom 22 submitted rankings. Jay Johnson, this year's committee chair says about the process: "In the first place, after four or five votes, a clear consensus develops and, although first and second place may trade places a few times during the voting process, by the end of the voting, there is no question about who should get the award. The selection committee has a clear picture of what constitutes excellence in a young scholar, as well they should, having once been successful young scholars."

During 2020, discussion was raised about (a) the name of the award; (b) the continued use of the physical award, a replica of the "Moundville cat" figure; and (c) the procedures for choosing the winner of the award. All of these have come up, in various forms, before. Only one decision about these issues was made by SEAC's Executive Committee: to retire the physical award (among other things, we have run out of room on the base to add the names of additional winners) and shift to an individual plaque for each recipient. The other issues will be discussed further in the coming year, with input solicited from diverse stakeholders.